Frequestly Asked Questions
DRIVERS EDUCATION CLASSES
Refunds will only be given during extenuating circumstances. There are no refunds for deposits of a class or course but the deposit can be used toward another class or course at our school. The school does not provide refunds for students who expire out of the 2 year state mandated time frame to complete a full driver education course.
The minimum age to start driver education is 15 and 9 months. There is no maximum age restriction. Individuals 15 and 9 months and up can take a driver education course.
Students must be exactly 15 and 9 months to start a class. The driver education course is a great way to learn Massachusetts regulations and driving laws. Completion of a full driver education course will also give you a discount on your insurance for up to 5 years.
If you are under the age of 18, you are required by the state of Massachusetts to complete a full driver education course to obtain a license before the age of 18.
If you are 18 or older you do not have to take a full driver education course, but it is highly recommended as you will gain the knowledge and on-road experience necessary to be a confident and safe driver. You will also receive an insurance discount for up to 5 years.
YES! The RMV requires all individuals who register for a full driver education course, to complete the 30-hour classroom, 2-hour parent class, 18-hours of on road hours and 40-hours of supervised parent driving within 2 years from the start date of the classroom or driving date (whichever one was started 1st).
ON ROAD DRIVING LESSONS
Students must be sixteen (16) years of age, have a valid learners permit, and a parent/guardian must have completed the state mandatory 2-hour parent class before any student at the school can participate in on-road instruction with the driving school. Our driving school also requires that a parent or guardian drive a minimum of 10 hours with their teen before scheduling any on-road driving lessons with our driving school.
The Junior Operator Law was put into effect to try and help combat newly licensed teen fatalities due to poor driving decisions. There are many restrictions that go along with a teen acquiring their license as well as a whole list of increased penalties and violations. As we do cover this topic extensively during classroom time here is a list of links that explain those areas for questions you may have.
JOL License and Permit Violations and Penalties
Facts about Learners Permits and JOL laws
There are several transactions the Registry of Motor Vehicles allows you to do online now. Including scheduling a time for your registry transactions like getting a permit. We at Nichols Driving School strive for convenience with our clients. If you are too busy in this hectic world we live in, no problem, we will do it for you! We book all road tests and apply for all paperwork that is needed to show you have completed a certified Drivers Education course. So, sit back, relax, and let us take you on your road to success.
Eighteen (18) hours of instruction in a driving training motor vehicle including a minimum of twelve (12) hours of actual behind-the-wheel instruction and six (6) hours of observation while another student is taking behind-the-wheel instruction.
Yes! All our driver education vehicles are equipped with dash cameras. Our dash cameras have GPS navigation, Speed sensor and inside & outside video footage that is uploaded to the cloud. We do not use any footage that is recorded for training purposes. The footage is only used if there were ever a questionable situation that might arise.
Massachusetts mandates that a parent/guardian must drive a minimum of 40-hours with their teenager as well as complete a full driver education program before a driving school can schedule a road test. (The driving school on road hours are not included in the parent/guardian 40 hours). Visit RESOURCES at the top of our website page for more information.
Parents can download the SUPERVISED DRIVING LOG, under resources on our website or download the ROAD READY APP on their cell phone to document hours. Our driving school code for the ROAD READY APP is "nicholsds"
Students who are enrolled in our driving school that are looking to schedule their on-road lessons can schedule appointments by logging into their driving school student portal account. The username and password that was sent in an email upon registration will be required. Please read the highlighted information box when logging into the student portal. It has very important information regarding updates and processes for scheduling your on-road appointments.
1st month of holding a learners permit - START YOUR SUPERVISED PARENT DRIVING HOURS. A MINIMUM OF 10 HOURS MUST BE COMPLETED OUT OF THE STATE REQUIRED 40 HOURS, IN ORDER TO START SCHEDULING LESSONS WITH THE DRIVING SCHOOL.
2nd month of holding a learner's permit, schedule your 1st and 2nd on-road appointment(s).
3rd month of holding a learner's permit, schedule your 3rd and 4th on-road appointment(s).
4th month of holding a learner's permit, schedule your 5th and 6th on-road appointment(s).
5th month of holding your learners permit, schedule your 7th and 8th on- road appointment(s).
6th month of holding your learners permit, schedule your 9th on-road appointment.
- A PARENT CLASS MUST BE COMPLETED TO START SCHEDULING ON-ROAD LESSONS WITH THE DRIVING SCHOOL
- MINIMUM PAYMENT TO START SCHEDULING YOUR ON ROAD LESSONS MUST BE MADE
- YOUR PERMIT INFORMATION SHOULD BE DOCUMENTED IN YOUR DRIVING SCHOOL STUDENT PORTAL ACCOUNT, TO START SCHEDULING LESSONS
- DO NOT WAIT UNTIL THE LAST MINUTE TO SCHEDULE YOUR ON-ROAD LESSONS!
- WE ARE BOOKING ON-ROAD APPOINTMENTS, 4-8 WEEKS OUT, SOMETIME LONGER THAN THAT.
- WE WILL NOT BE ABLE TO ACCOMMODATE TO LAST MINUTE SCHEDULING AND WE DO NOT FAST TRACK STUDENTS.
- CANCELATIONS OF SCHEDULED LESSONS WILL RESULT IN THE DELAY OF SCHEDULING A ROAD TEST AND THE COMPLETION OF YOUR ON ROAD HOURS.
- WE DO CHARGE A LATE CANCELATION/NO SHOW FEE FOR SCHEDULED LESSONS
Learners Permits are obtained through the Registry of Motor Vehicles. To get a learners permit you must be 16 years of age, (you cannot schedule a permit exam before the age of 16
Go to the RMV website at www.mass.gov/rmv and schedule an appointment.
Once you have a scheduled date for your permit exam, you will need to bring 4 documents. 1-proof of birth (original documents only, NO COPIES) Your social security card is preferred (original document only, NO COPIES) or legal document that has your social security # or a denial letter from the social security office of a social security card, and 2-documents showing proof of residency. Examples are bank statement, paystub, utility bill, letter from a school on letter head. Proof of residency can not be older than 60-days and documents can not be the same. MAKE SURE YOU ALSO HAVE THE PERMIT APPLICATION FOR YOUR APPOINTMENT!
When you arrive at the RMV for your schedule permit exam the staff will ask for your documents and application. You will take an eye test and pay the RMV permit exam fee. You can take your test at the RMV location, or you can take it at home. Make sure if you take the test at home, you have a printer with ink. You will need to print the permit out once the test has been passed.
NO. You do not need a learners permit to start the classroom portion of driver education. The classroom experience will provide the knowledge that students can utilize in aiding them for their learners permit exam when they are ready to obtain a learner's permit.
Massachusetts requires a total of 30 hours of class to be completed. The 30-hour curriculum is taught in 15 Modules that the Registry of Motor Vehicles mandates.
If a student misses a class, they need to make up the amount of time that was missed and the Module(s) that were missed. The hours and the modules must coincide.
We offer 1-week classes during school vacations. The 1-week classes run for 5 days, Monday – Friday from 8:00am to 3:00pm. We offer 2-week classes that run Monday – Friday from 4:00pm – 7:15pm, and we offer 5-week classes every Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday from 6:00pm – 8:00pm. Classes vary month to month based on staff availability and school vacations.
YES! The state requires that students enrolled in a driver education class take and pass a test with an 80% or higher to complete the classroom portion of Driver Education.
Our full package program cost includes the 30-hour classroom portion of driver education, 12-hours of on-road driving lessons, 6-hours of on-road observation lessons, 2-hour parent class, use of the driver education vehicle for a road test conducted at our driving school location, a certified staff as your road test sponsor.
No, The RMV fees are separate from the driving school course cost. We have no control over RMV fees, they are set by the state. RMV fees include $15- RMV processing fee for the driver education completion certificate, $20-Alternative Road Test fee, $30 -Learners Permit Exam fee, $35- RMV Road Test Appointment fee, $50- RMV License fee
YES! If your parent has never completed a parent class, then a parent class is required to be completed by a parent or guardian for all students at the driving school under the age of 18 to start any on-road lessons through the school
If your parents have completed a parent class within the last 5 years, they do not need to take the parent class again. However, they must provide the driving school with a parent class completion certificate so that the school can document the information in the students driving school account and RMV account accordingly.
Students or parents can sign up for a parent class by logging into the students driving school student portal account. You will need the student's username and password that was emailed upon registration for the course. Go to ENROLL, Click on INCLUDED PARENT CLASS $0.00 and choose a date available, Click add, and you have successfully enrolled into a parent class.
Our driving school holds parent classes once a month. Classes are held on Monday nights from 6pm – 8pm
If you are a student at our driving school, the school will schedule you a road test. (Students are required to complete the full driver education course requirements and hold a valid learners permit for 6 months before being eligible for a road test)
Students must hand in their road test application and $15 for their RMV completion certificate on their last scheduled appointment (usually this is done on the students last driving appointment) Road test applications can be printed out on our website under RESOURCES.
Once the driving school has the student's road test application and $15 for the completion certificate, we will add them to our next tentative road test list. The school will go into the students driving school student portal account and add the $20 RMV fee for the alternative road test. This fee can be paid through the driving school student portal with a credit card. $35 RMV road test appointment fee and $50 RMV license fee can be paid at any time before a scheduled road test, through your RMV PROFILE ACCOUNT. Log into the RMV website at www.mass.gov/rmv. You will need your permit information and the last 4 digits of your social security # to access your RMV PROFILE. THESE FEES MUST BE PAID BEFORE YOUR SCHEDULED ROAD TEST DATE
Once the school has a minimum of 20 students, we will submit a road test request to the RMV. (This is done on Mondays before 4pm)
The RMV will notify the driving school a week later (the school usually will receive a confirmation by Friday, end of day)
Once the school receives confirmation of a road test date, we will contact students through email and text of their scheduled road test date
Adults looking for a road test sponsorship must go to the road test sponsorship link and fill out a JOT form. The school will contact you when we have a road test date.
The RMV road test fee's are
- $20 for an alternative road test
- $35 for a road test appointment
- $50 for a license
These fees can be paid in your RMV profile account at any time, a road test does not need to be scheduled to pay these fees